Independence Daze

On the election, and other such matters of great importance

 

What is voting season without a good satire?

Let’s pretend for a minute that I haven’t already attempted to write this post a handful of times.

Maybe then, I won’t inhibit my desire to be honest.

Yesterday, I tried to watch the big debate between potential presidents of the United States, and failed. I couldn’t keep my attention on the candidates, being too distracted by how strange and foreign the entire stage was. People in business suits, with ironed shirts and hairstyles. Two men talking so fast, you could almost feel their adrenalin pumping in your own chest. They rambled, striking down issues like balls in a batting booth.

But what are these issues? Are these people, these questions, supposed to represent me:

QUESTION: Mr. Romney, what do you plan on doing with immigrants without their green cards that are currently living here as productive members of society?

What is “immigration”? People moving across borders of lines that exist on paper. Who are immigrants? I think in America (- By “America”, I mean the “United States” because that is how my readers will know it, although that word actually represents the entire land mass of the Western Hemisphere) conversations on immigrants generally refer back to citizens coming in from the Mexican border.

Let’s do a little research on the United States-Mexico border. It was established in 1848-1853, less than two hundred years ago after a brutal war in 1836. Mexicans speak a dialect of the Spanish language, because most of their ancestors were descendants of Spain. Spanish colonists stepped into Mexico in the 1500’s and slaughtered entire empires, including the smallest and most isolated tribes. These tribes were the result of Viking expeditions that landed on the area in the 10th century. In fact, had the Spanish not killed most of the tribes in Central America, then the motivation to travel further North and later colonize the United States may not have been there.That my friends, is immigration. Before this land had a political system, its colonies were immigrants.

So whose land would you say this is anyway?

I could go on. Don’t even get me started on the discussion over “jobs”…

Talking about what defines a “job”, would mean I would have to talk about the definition of “money”. (This from a girl who works on her landlord’s farm in exchange for free food.)

Money is paper. No matter how “broke” you are, this unique and worthless paper is the only approved currency you can use. If you want an education, a good doctor, a loaf of bread – you must use money. No matter how many products you can make, how many hours you could offer yourself as a servant. You will not get your service without money. So you must be wealthy in order to get quality purchases. Most people can’t make you wealthy though, however much you deserve it, because they don’t have the money.

Because money isn’t worth it. Not worth their kids, their meals and their happiness.

It’s probably not worth yours either, which is why you do without.

It’s about as worth it as we can stand.

 

I felt bad/sick/angry listening to the debate.

Like I was eaves-dropping on nasty gossip

about my mom

from someone who never met her.

I wonder if the people surrounding last night’s debate grew out their nails. (People with long nails deserve a pat on the back, I don’t care who they are.) If they do, we obviously don’t do the same things with our hands.

In fact, I don’t think any of us have a similar life at all.

I realize I wish I could vote,

but I can’t, because no one out there is representing me.

I am multi-talented in things that are advantageous in a completely different world.

And government does nothing, but get in the way of folks like me.

Lesser of two evils? No thanks.

Conscientious observer, and don’t nobody dare guilt me for it.

Image

ever truly your favorite prairie muffin,

❤ Nellie Ann

P.S.  I will accept guilt for food.

Agriculture is our wisest pursuit, because it will in the end contribute most to real wealth, good morals, and happiness.” – Letter from Thomas Jefferson to George Washington

4 thoughts on “On the election, and other such matters of great importance

  1. Ugh, don’t even get me started on this crap.

    Isn’t it funny how we’re all obsessed with what happens on the federal level but we almost never actually feel any changes in our daily lives? The media and social media sure screw us over on that one….

    My husband ran for a local city council office a few years ago when the guy who had been in there for 27yrs (a negative bastard at that) was going uncontested. The stuff that he does there is seen every day by us, our kids and we can actually make real changes in our environment. I wish more people would stop complaining about the president and focusing on national campaigns and instead, get involved somewhere that they can actually affect.

    Anyway, I couldn’t watch the debates either and I hate voting for federal elections. Last time I voted libertarian and still haven’t been able to ‘live down’ the response from my in laws who think I ‘gave my vote’ to the ‘other guy’……so lame.

Leave a Reply

