Photography

Beautiful Wasteland

It rarely makes the news today,

the place where I was born.

They called it a wasteland,

a wilderness gone wrong.

Where the twisted trees have fallen,

the branches stripped and bare.

In the silence of the night time,

innocence is here.

I embraced my father’s warnings,

and studied in your schools

to justify your theories

and convoluted rules.

Traveled to the corners

where everybody knows

my country’s been wearing

the emperor’s clothes.

“Beautiful wasteland…

is me.”

If only you’ll see,

you’ll believe.

I’ll take you there,

to the bracken slopes

where the summer’s rolling in.

We’re lying by the ocean,

our western breeze is still.

She’s the heart of all seasons,

a mother to my soul.

When the century is over,

and the shipping days are done

Like a child for the first time

I will lie here again.

Lyrics courtesy of Capercaillie

ever truly your favorite prairie muffin
❤ Nellie Ann

One thought on “Beautiful Wasteland

  1. Pingback: Wasteland Review « All Things In The Middle

Leave a Reply

